Imagine Peace.

     As a young girl growing up listening to Abbey Road, I shared my father’s adoration for the Beatles. My favorite songs were Maxwell’s Silver Hammer and Octopus Garden. These days, I have many more favorites, especially Dear Prudence, Across the Universe, and Strawberry Fields Forever. In these songs, I found love and inspiration, as well as the message of Peace.

Image

     Throughout the years, I’ve felt intensely connected to John Lennon and his universal message for Peace. Lennon’s lucky number was 9 and he was born on October 9. I was also born on the 9th of the month in April, and the number has always held a special meaning in my life. I spent the freshman year of high school researching Lennon for a class paper. I became immersed in my findings. Although I had grown up listening to his songs, I rediscovered Lennon’s message in a deeper, more fundamental way.

     Lennon remains an enigma, a fleeting star across the dark expanse of the sky, burning brightly with truth. He stood for an idea far greater than himself. I was intrigued, also due to the fact that his life was ended so abruptly, seemingly prematurely. Something surrounding him captivates my imagination. It is his aura that still influences and inspires, his vision for the world, his optimism, his words that whisper in my ear and speak to me, even though he is long gone from this Earth. Yet Lennon still communicates his message through the medium of his beautiful songs and powerful lyrics. It is my dream to place flowers on the Imagine memorial at Strawberry Fields, Central Park, New York City, and meditate for Peace. Lennon devoted the latter part of his life communicating a simple yet powerful message of love and Peace, and it is my hope to do the same. The United States FBI even had a file on him and saw him as a threat to national security during the Vietnam War. Check out the documentary, The U.S. vs. John Lennon, for more information. The institutions of government found his message as a threat to their right to power. If many people connect in order to spread Peace, they will be more powerful than any oppressive government institution, because the peoples’ vibration will be aligned with truth and Universal Love.

Image

     Meditate for Peace for all beings. Listen. Love. Be inspired by Lennon’s message at Imagine Peace, where people are coming together from around the world to manifest his vision. We are united in Peace in the Universal mind.

Om Shanti Shanti Shanti.
Om Peace Peace Peace.

4 comments

  1. Yes. John still captures my imagination, too.

    All my cars have been named after Beatles songs. I had a car named Stawberry Fields. The one I’m with now is Jude.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Hope you have a great day! 😃

  2. Reblogged this on Dizzy yet? and commented:
    You can never get too much John Lennon. Dig the Beatleness of Jade’s blog, cats and kittens! John and the Lads were a monumental influence on me, as well…

    I may have Agnostic, Secular Humanist leanings. But the Dalai and the Buddhists have it going on in a way no one else does. The Dalai has even called for an end to religion — like John in Imagine — because it gets in the way of the True Love we should have for each other.
    Nam myoho renge kyo. (‘I devote myself to the Lotus Sutra of the Wonderful Law.’) 💋


Leave a Reply

