In 2013, I want to feel…

expansive, creative, artistic, loving, playful, blissful, cherished, adored, connected, supported, ambitious, devoted, peaceful, happy, compassionate, selfless, adventurous, confident, challenged, open, strong, flexible, vibrant, radiant, sexy, beautiful, balanced, abundant, and graceful.

tumblr_md8z1aM9yB1qcdo2mo1_500

     This post is inspired by Danielle Laporte’s Desire Map, in which she challenges us not to make resolutions. Instead, Danielle’s approach requires us to deeply connect to our desires and how we truly want to feel. I asked myself, “What do I value? How do I want to feel when I wake up? How can I bring more love, peace, and abundance into my life?” By first articulating how I want to feel, I can work from there to gain clarity about how I want my life to be like. I am focusing on my emotions and desires by being honest with myself about what I want. This is a shift in perspective from looking at the content rather than the frame. The frame is how things look in one’s reality, such as the career, the romantic partner, and the goals. The content is a deeper understanding of one’s desires. It requires looking past how I think things should look in order to accept my life as it is, now, and being honest with myself about my next step. I cannot control every aspect of my life, but I have total control over my feelings and how I react to things. Therefore, I choose to focus on the content, as in, how I am feeling instead of demanding the Universe to give me the things I think I want. I choose to accept that everything is unfolding in perfect time according to the Divine will, instead of my own will. I choose to move in the direction of my dreams by seeking out the experiences that help me, make me feel good about myself, and support my journey.

Try this exercise out for yourself. Instead of writing down a list of concrete goals and resolutions for the new year, start out by focusing on the desires and emotions you want to feel. How do you want to wake up in the morning? What will you be excited about? How will it feel when you take action toward your most audacious and crazy dreams? Focus on your deepest desires, then dwell on them for a bit. Get still and quiet. Meditate on it and feel what action will help you move in the direction of that desire. I believe in you.

5 comments

  1. Can’t wait to try the desire map! Thanks for sharing. :) I want to wake up every morning ready to positively impact the world- it doesn’t matter how many people I reach, but how deeply I reach them.

  2. Pingback: selfless feet. « Sick with Poetry.

  3. Pingback: How I Manifest Stuff | The Balanced Soul

  4. Pingback: A Great Attitude Goes A Long Way… | Turning Ground


Leave a Reply

