Empathic Awareness.

It wasn’t until recently that I learned about Empaths, people who are highly sensitive to energy and to their environments, more-so than the average person. They feel everything, like psychic sponges, and are oft frazzled by the negative and fearful energies of others. Empaths can sense deep emotions, energy, and the intention behind appearances or words. “People of all walks of life and animals are attracted to the warmth and genuine compassion of empaths. Regardless of whether others are aware of one being empathic, people are drawn to them as a metal object is to a magnet! They are like beacons of light” (Source).

I always felt this distinct, underlying feeling of being different due to my sensitive nature. After learning more about Empaths, I choose to see this quality as a gift. Empaths are compassionate, loving, and great healers. They regularly access that space of inner wisdom and intuition. My mother is highly intuitive and has learned to hone her skills to accurately connect to an inner knowing. She is amazingly spot-on about peoples’ true natures.

I am beginning to learn how to control and direct my empathic abilities. With this awareness, I choose to maintain a high vibration at all times, especially when I am around others. Often I feel depleted hanging out with many people in highly social environments. Socializing can be fun for a time, but also takes a lot of energy out of me. However, with this understanding of my empathic nature, I create healthy boundaries by giving myself serene time alone to recharge. I actively avoid atmospheres that are too intense for me, like crowded shopping malls and the like. If I have to go to these places, I create a Reiki bubble that only allows light and love in. I also plan my day to spend as little time in crazy environments as possible, leaving more time to connect to nature and my inner wisdom.

Intimate relationships in particular are difficult for empaths, because I can feel smothered when people are taking too much energy out of me. My empathic abilities can be intense at times. However, the awareness of my nature has allowed me to accept myself unconditionally. This empathic awareness also allows me to communicate my needs to others. I love and respect myself so much that I feel comfortable telling others when I need time alone to decompress and recharge. If you feel in your heart that you are an empath, use meditation and quiet reflection to develop self-awareness and unconditional acceptance. By respecting your true nature, you can create healthy boundaries and communicate your needs to others. Cultivating empathic awareness is a way to bring more harmony, peace, and bliss into each moment.

Namaste.

5 comments

  1. Pingback: The Pinks in Nature remind us to Feel Love | ~ Soul Rebalancing ~

  2. Pingback: Some Common Misconceptions about Professional Psychics/Energy Healers | ~ Soul Rebalancing ~

  3. Pingback: Is being Highly Sensitive the Bane of your Life? | ~ Soul Rebalancing ~

  4. Pingback: An Empath’s Reflection « Brandon Bored


Leave a Reply

